Marek Janowksi (photo: Felix Broede)

Marek Janowski and Marc-­André Hamelin with Reger and Schumann

With his Piano Concerto, Max Reger wanted to compose a companion piece to Johannes Brahms’s powerful Piano Concerto No. 1. The work, which surpasses its model in force, is considered one of the most difficult pieces of the genre. To celebrate the composer’s 150th birthday, it will be presented by pianist Marc-­André Hamelin, who is able to make both the highly virtuosic and the lyrical passages shine. At his side will be conductor Marek Janowski, a specialist in Romantic repertoire, who has also programmed one of the finest symphonies of this period: Robert Schumann’s euphoric, energetic “Rhenish”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Marek Janowski conductor

Marc-André Hamelin piano

Max Reger

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in F minor, op. 114

Marc-André Hamelin piano

Robert Schumann

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, op. 97 “Rhenish”

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Marek Janowksi (photo: Felix Broede)

Marc-Andre Hamelin (photo: Canetty Clarke)