Klaus Mäkelä conducts Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich

Klaus Mäkelä (photo: Marco Borggreve / Oslo Philharmonic)

Passionate, visionary, powerful – critics praise conductor Klaus Mäkelä with words like these. Despite his youth, the native of Finland, who is chief conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic and the Orchestre de Paris, is already in great demand internationally. He brings two Sixth Symphonies to his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker. Dmitri Shostakovich said he wanted to convey the mood of “spring, joy and youth” in his work. Tchaikovsky, on the other hand, evoked a dark, melancholy and yearning mood in the “Pathétique”, his last symphony – an impressive farewell to the world.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Klaus Mäkelä conductor

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 54

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 74 “Pathétique”

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Exhibition in the Green Room

In cooperation with Deutsche Bank, we offer a guided tour of the exhibition by artist William Kentridge before concert visits.

Read more