Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Kirill Petrenko conducts “Don Juan” and “Till Eulenspiegel”

The young Richard Strauss was a great composer – and he knew it. Who else could achieve such unprecedented sound effects with an orchestra, who could unleash such energy? It is not surprising that Strauss devoted two of his most famous works to Don Juan and Till Eulenspiegel. He could identify with their audacity, and thus these symphonic poems are delightfully exultant self-portraits. Kirill Petrenko also presents the tragic hero Taras Bulba, whose bloody story Leoš Janáček captures in music full of vehemence and fire.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Gioacchino Rossini

The Barber of Seville: Overture

Leoš Janáček

Taras Bulba, rhapsody for orchestra

Richard Strauss

Don Juan, op. 20

Richard Strauss

Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche (Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks), op. 28

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Fri, 29 Apr 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)