Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Kirill Petrenko conducts Schulhoff, Sinigaglia and Zemlinsky

Kirill Petrenko devotes this programme to three Jewish composers who were subjected to anti-Semitic persecution during the Nazi regime and whose music is still performed too rarely. We will hear Erwin Schulhoff’s Second Symphony, which fascinates with its adventurous playing with styles – for example, in a Scherzo alla Jazz. Two works full of Italian temperament by Leone Sinigaglia follow, featuring concertmaster Noah Bendix-Balgley as soloist. The concert closes with Alexander Zemlinsky’s voluptuously expressive Lyric Symphony, with Lise Davidsen and Christian Gerhaher.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Noah Bendix-Balgley violin

Lise Davidsen soprano

Christian Gerhaher baritone

Erwin Schulhoff

Symphony No. 2

Leone Sinigaglia

Romance for violin and orchestra in A major, op. 29

Noah Bendix-Balgley violin

Leone Sinigaglia

Rapsodia piemontese for violin and orchestra, op. 26

Noah Bendix-Balgley violin

Alexander Zemlinsky

Lyric Symphony, op. 18

Lise Davidsen soprano, Christian Gerhaher baritone

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 09 Jun 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Series I

Fri, 10 Jun 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Series B

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Noah Bendix-Balgley (photo: Sebastian Hänel)


Be well prepared for the concert with our introductory lectures!