Scharoun Ensemble Berlin (photo: Felix Broede)

Chamber Music

The Scharoun Ensemble Berlin with music by Beethoven, Schreker and Wellesz

Franz Schreker, born in 1878, was one of the most frequently performed composers of his time. The works of Egon Wellesz, who was seven years younger, were also influential during the first quarter of the 20th century – until the Nazis banned the music of both composers as “degenerate”. As part of our chamber music series focus on the “Lost Generation”, the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin juxtaposes Schreker’s expressive dance allegory Der Wind and Wellesz’s Octet, which features various musical styles, with Beethoven’s cheerful Septet.

Scharoun Ensemble Berlin:

Christophe Horák violin

Micha Afkham viola

Claudio Bohórquez cello

Peter Riegelbauer double bass

Alexander Bader clarinet

Markus Weidmann bassoon

Stefan de Leval Jezierski french horn

Franz Schreker

Der Wind

Egon Wellesz

Octet, op. 67

Ludwig van Beethoven

Septet in E flat major, op. 20

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Tue, 05 Oct 2021, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Serie Q

Scharoun Ensemble Berlin (photo: Felix Broede)

Saisonschwerpunkt: »Lost Generation«

Erinnerung an vergessene Komponisten

read more