Patricia Kopatchinskaja (photo: Stefan Hoederath)

“Les Adieux”: Patricia Kopatchinskaja and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

The centrepiece of Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s performance with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra is Beethoven’s “Pastoral”, a homage to the beauty of nature. But this nature – according to the violinist – is under threat. “The relentlessly advancing environmental problem depresses me. In this project entitled Les Adieux, I want to draw attention to the runaway extinction of species – as a musician’s reaction to current events.” The programme of this staged concert is about farewells and the probing question: are we killing ourselves off?

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Patricia Kopatchinskaja concept, violin and musical direction

Lani Tran-Duc visual design

Tabea Rothfuchs Video

Ruth Stofer Video

Markus Güdel light design and technical direction

Katharina Pelosi Sounddesign

Les Adieux

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”: 1st Movement

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”: 2nd Movement

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”: 3rd Movement”

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastoral”: 4th Movement

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, op. 55 “Eroica”: 2nd Movement

as well as Robert Schumann and Dmitri Shostakovich

The concert will be followed by an artist talk in the foyer of the Chamber Music Hall with Patricia Kopatchinskaja and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra.

Dates and Tickets


Patricia Kopatchinskaja

The violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja thrills audiences with her boundless enthusiasm, her passionate temperament and her technical brilliance, even in the most difficult and unwieldy works. The musician has attracted attention with the Berliner Philharmoniker during the past few years with challenging violin concertos by Peter Eötvös, György Ligeti and Arnold Schoenberg. Contemporary music allows her a glimpse into the future: “It is obvious that only in the newest works does actual development take place and the future begin, this decisive step into the unknown. That is what is most fascinating. In comparison, the preoccupation with the long familiar is almost banal.” In other words, no fear of the unknown! Patricia Kopatchinskaja already proved that as a 13-year-old, when she and her family left their homeland of Moldavia and emigrated to Vienna. “The first stop was a refugee camp,” she recalls. “That was not a traumatic experience for me, though, but rather like a ticket to a new world.” At 17, she began her studies at the University of Music in Vienna, where she met Kirill Petrenko, with whom she has enjoyed a friendship since then. From Vienna she transferred to the University of the Arts in Bern, where she completed her studies with Igor Ozim. She then launched her international career, which is unique in many respects. She is not only a soloist, but a composer and conductor as well, and also – as she emphasizes – “a human being, member of a family and citizen of the world. That should not be irrelevant to us. Only after those things do we have some profession or other”. This point of view also defines her artistic work. For example, in her project Les Adieux with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, she calls attention to the extinction of species. Since her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in September 2014 with Peter Eötvösʼs violin concerto DoReMi, a close collaboration with the orchestra has developed. “This orchestra has a quality that is unparalleled, both as a whole and each individual member. It is a great privilege to be able to play with them,” says Patricia Kopatchinskaja. This season she is Artist in Residence with the Berliner Philharmoniker and can display all the facets of her artistic personality. She has already performed Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Concerto funebre under Kirill Petrenko. During today’s concert, which spans the period from the Baroque to contemporary music, she appears both as violinist and conductor. In everything she does on the concert platform, one thing is particularly important to her: to electrify her public. “I want to experience things with my audience. I want to take paths that I have not yet taken myself. And I hope that as many as possible will come with me.”

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO) was founded in 1997 as a free, self-determined and international orchestra whose musicians work together as a "nomadic collective" in projects and on tours. The core of the orchestra consists of 45 members from almost 20 different countries. The orchestra is jointly led by its management team and the orchestra board with the participation of the musicians. In terms of sound, the MCO is characterised by a chamber music approach to music-making. The repertoire ranges from the Viennese Classical and early Romantic periods to contemporary works and world premieres, reflecting the MCO's agility and its ability to transcend musical boundaries. The orchestra received its artistic imprint from its founding mentor Claudio Abbado and its Conductor Laureate Daniel Harding. Other long-term artistic partnerships link the ensemble to pianist Mitsuko Uchida, violinist Pekka Kuusisto, pianist Leif Ove Andsnes and conductor Teodor Currentzis. In 2016, Daniele Gatti was appointed Artistic Advisor of the MCO. Highlights of recent years include Beethoven Journey, a cycle of Beethoven's piano concertos with Leif Ove Andsnes, and the opera production Written on Skin, which the MCO premiered at the Festival d'Aix-en-Provence in 2012 under the baton of composer George Benjamin and also performed at the Berlin Philharmonie in November 2018.

In addition to its concerts, the MCO organises numerous encounters and projects for music education: since 2012, Feel the Music has opened the world of music to deaf and hearing-impaired children through interactive workshops. Since 2009, there has also been an MCO Academy, in which the musicians pass on their passion to the next generation. The MCO last appeared in the concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation in mid-May 2019. Lars Vogt conducted works by Haydn and Mozart from the piano.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja (photo: Stefan Hoederath)

Visiting information

Read more

Artist in Residence

Patricia Kopatchinskaja: A portrait