John Storgårds (photo: Marco Borggreve)

John Storgårds and Matthew McDonald

Anton Bruckner wrestled with self-doubt, frequently revising his symphonies – but not his Sixth. We don’t know what he liked so much about the work. Perhaps the inexorable rhythmic pounding in the first movement? The strangely eerie Scherzo? The interpreter for this performance is making his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker: John Storgårds, chief guest conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. Before the symphony, Matthew McDonald, first principal bass of the Berliner Philharmoniker, will appear as soloist in the world premiere of a concerto for double bass by Gerald Barry. According to Barry, the work resembles a dreamlike scene with actors whose speech seems both familiar and strange.

Berliner Philharmoniker

John Storgårds conductor

Matthew McDonald double bass

Carl Nielsen

Helios, overture, op. 17

Gerald Barry

Aus Die bitteren Tränen der Petra von Kant, Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra, commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation (Première)

Matthew McDonald double bass

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 6 in A major

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 02 Jun 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Series E

Fri, 03 Jun 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Series F

John Storgårds (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Matthew McDonald (photo: Sebastian Haenel)


Be well prepared for the concert with our introductory lectures!