Paavo Järvi (photo: Yong Bin)

Paavo Järvi and Emmanuel Pahud

Paavo Järvi has made highly acclaimed recordings of Beethoven and Sibelius, which thrill listeners with their resilient energy. In his interpretations, Beethoven is not simply the overpowering titan, Sibelius not merely a Nordic melancholiac – instead, Järvi conveys the youthful power of this music. He conducts Beethoven’s Eighth and Sibelius’s Seventh Symphony with the Berliner Philharmoniker at this concert. In addition, Emmanuel Pahud will be the soloist in the world premiere of a flute concerto by Erkki-Sven Tüür. The music of the Estonian composer is atmospheric, energetic and often reflects his experiences as a rock musician.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Emmanuel Pahud flute

Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 7 in C major, op. 105

Erkki-Sven Tüür

Concerto for Flute and Orchestra, commissioned by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation together with the Tonhalle Zürich (premiere)

Emmanuel Pahud flute

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 8 in F major, op. 93

Dates and Tickets

Thu 26 May 2022, 20:00

Main Auditorium | Introduction: 19:15

Series A

Fri 27 May 2022, 20:00

Main Auditorium | Introduction: 19:15

Series C

Paavo Järvi (photo: Yong Bin)