Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Kirill Petrenko conducts Zimmermann, Lutosławski and Brahms

Anyone who wants to continue the symphonic tradition must have self-confidence and creativity. In this concert, Kirill Petrenko presents two composers who took this risk. We will hear Witold Lutosławski’s splendidly virtuosic Symphony No. 1, and the concert concludes with the Janus-faced Second Symphony by Johannes Brahms: a half-sunny, half-gloomy work, which the composer himself described as a “lovely monster”. The concert opens with Bernd Alois Zimmermann’s sound surface composition Photoptosis, which was written during the second half of the 20th century.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Bernd Alois Zimmermann

Photoptosis, Prélude for large orchestra

Witold Lutosławski

Symphony No.1

Johannes Brahms

Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 73

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Wed, 26 Jan 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Serie C

Thu, 27 Jan 2022, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Serie F

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)

»Lost Generation«

Erinnerung an vergessene Komponisten