Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Kirill Petrenko conducts Mendelssohn and Shostakovich

In this programme, Kirill Petrenko first takes us to Great Britain. We hear Felix Mendelssohn’s Third Symphony, which was inspired by a visit to Scotland: atmospherically dense music, both austere and luminous, with folk-dancelike vigour. Dmitri Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony – the first the composer wrote after Stalin’s death in 1953 – is programmatically very different. Shostakovich makes the repression of the Stalin era palpable with oppressive, often grotesque music, before closing with a brilliant movement full of hope.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Symphony No. 3 in A minor, op. 56 “Scottish”

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 10 in E minor, op. 93

Dates and Tickets


Since the 2019/20 season, Kirill Petrenko has been chief conductor and artistic director of the Berliner Philharmoniker. He received his training first in Russia, then in Austria. The international music world first became aware of him when he premiered Wagner’s Ring of the Nibelung at the Meiningen Theater in 2001, directed by Christine Mielitz and designed by Alfred Hrdlicka, performed on four consecutive days. He conducted the cycle for the second time twelve years later at the Bayreuth Festival. At the same time, Kirill Petrenko took up his post as general music director of Bayerische Staatsoper, his third leading position at an opera house after Meiningen and the Komische Oper Berlin. He also made guest appearances at the world’s top opera houses (from the Wiener Staatsoper, Covent Garden in London and the Opéra National in Paris to the Metropolitan Opera in New York) as well as with the great international symphony orchestras – in Vienna, Munich, Dresden, Paris, Amsterdam, London, Rome, Chicago, Cleveland and Israel. He made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2006. Kirill Petrenko also appears with the Berliner Philharmoniker outside of Berlin – on tour and of course in the Digital Concert Hall. Selected performances are also available as recordings; most recently released was an edition with symphonic works by Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, Franz Schmidt and Rudi Stephan.

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)