Gustavo Gimeno (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Gustavo Gimeno and Augustin Hadelich make their debuts

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade is striking because of the contrast between the brutal sultan and the charming, clever title heroine. There is also a dazzling vision of the Orient, which shimmers in all colours. It is not surprising that Rimsky-Korsakov was a sought-after teacher of orchestration. One of his students was Sergei Prokofiev, who acquired from him a fondness for earthy Russian folk melodies, as we hear in his Second Violin Concerto. Both conductor Gustavo Gimeno, music director in Luxembourg and Toronto, and violinist Augustin Hadelich make their debuts with the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Gustavo Gimeno conductor

Augustin Hadelich violin

György Ligeti

Concert Românesc

Sergei Prokofiev

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in G minor, op. 63

Augustin Hadelich violin

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Scheherazade, Symphonic Suite, op. 35

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 07 Oct 2021, 20:00


Serie F

Fri, 08 Oct 2021, 20:00


Serie I

Gustavo Gimeno (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Augustin Hadelich (photo: Suxiao Yang)