Tugan Sokhiev (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Tugan Sokhiev and Nikolai Lugansky

Tugan Sokhiev, music director of the Bolshoi Theatre, presents three melodious discoveries in this concert. The main work on the programme is Ernest Chausson’s Symphony in B flat major, which the Berliner Philharmoniker last performed in 1975. This brilliant work features shimmering French colours and a great lamento that was obviously influenced by Wagner. Rimsky-Korsakov’s folk-like overture to the opera The Tsar’s Bride and the youthful First Piano Concerto by the 17-year-old Sergei Rachmaninov, with Nikolai Lugansky as soloist, are also rarely heard.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Tugan Sokhiev conductor

Nikolai Lugansky piano

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

The Tsar's Bride: Overture

Sergei Rachmaninov

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in F sharp minor, op. 1

Nikolai Lugansky piano

Ernest Chausson

Symphony in B flat major, op. 20

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 23 Sep 2021, 20:00


Serie C

Fri, 24 Sep 2021, 20:00


Serie E

Tugan Sokhiev (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Nikolai Lugansky (photo: JB Millot)