Kirill Petrenko (photo: Lucerne Festival/ Priska Ketterer)

Kirill Petrenko and Patricia Kopatchinskaja with works by Hartmann and Stravinsky

Hardly any other work has captured the horror of the Nazi regime and the Second World War as powerfully in music as Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Concerto funebre. The soloist in this performance with Kirill Petrenko is Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Artist in Residence with the Berliner Philharmoniker. Also on the programme is the energetic and colourful ballet music from The Firebird by Igor Stravinsky. The juxtaposition of these works shows what connects the two composers, who admired each other: their striving towards uncompromisingly modern yet emotionally moving music.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Karl Amadeus Hartmann

Concerto funebre for violin and strings

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Igor Stravinsky

L'Oiseau de feu (The Firebird), Ballet Music

Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Fri, 17 Sep 2021, 20:00


Serie K

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Lucerne Festival/ Priska Ketterer)

Patricia Kopatchinskaja (photo: Alexandra Muraveva )