Jakub Hrůša (photo: Pavel Heijnz)

Jakub Hrůša conducts Bruckner’s Fourth and a world premiere

We can quickly hear why Anton Bruckner called his Fourth Symphony “Romantic”. There is a distinct feeling of longing and closeness to nature – for instance, in the horn call at the beginning, the melancholy singing of the strings and the vigorous sounds of the hunt. Jakub Hrůša, chief conductor of the Bamberger Symphoniker, leads the orchestra in this concert. He also conducts the world premiere of Keyframes for a Hippogriff by Olga Neuwirth, one of the most prominent composers of our time. According to the composer, the work is about trying “to remain a free soul despite the despair and pain in this world”.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Andrew Watts countertenor

Tölzer Knabenchor

Olga Neuwirth

Keyframes for a Hippogriff − Musical Calligrams in memoriam Hester Diamond commissioned jointly by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, the New York Philharmonic and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra Première

Andrew Watts countertenor, Tölzer Knabenchor

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 4 in E flat major “Romantic” (2nd version from 1878/1880)

Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

Jakub Hrůša (photo: Pavel Heijnz)

Hinweise zu Ihrem Besuch

Read more