Kirill Petrenko (photo: Chris Christodoulou )

Season Opening: Kirill Petrenko conducts Schubert’s “Great” Symphony in C Major

Kirill Petrenko opens the new season of the Berliner Philharmoniker with the enchanting and mysterious world of Romanticism. The main work on the programme is Franz Schubert’s “Great” C major Symphony, in which exuberance, dance and nobility are shaken by moments of deep despair. Carl Maria von Weber transports us to the magical realm of Oberon, the king of the elves. Paul Hindemith was inspired by Weber’s music in his Symphonic Metamorphosis: a colourful work in which Romanticism, jazz and march music form an exciting, dynamic combination.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Opening concert in association with Deutsche Bank

Carl Maria von Weber

Oberon: Overture

Paul Hindemith

Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber

Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 8 in C major, D 944 “Great”

Dates and Tickets

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Chris Christodoulou )

Hinweise zu Ihrem Besuch

Read more

Musik der Romantik

Diese Werke führen uns in die Tiefe der Seele. Mehr zum Programm

Jenseits des Jägerchors

Der unbekannte Carl Maria von Weber