Lisa Batiashvili (photo: Chris Singer)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Semyon Bychkov conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. 35

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 7 in D minor, op. 70

Dates and Tickets

sales information
This concert will take place without an audience and will be broadcast live in the Digital Concert Hall and from 20.04 pm by rbb kultur.

Thu, 11 Mar 2021, 19:00


Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast


With its its beguiling, heartfelt melodies, its captivating dance-like rhythms and its highly virtuosic solo part, Tchaikovsky’s opus 35 is considered the epitome of the Romantic violin concerto. Ideal for a violinist like Lisa Batiashvili, who – according to the Guardian – knows how to interpret this piece in an intense, radiant and heartfelt way. Semyon Bychkov, a long-standing associate of the Berliner Philharmoniker, also conducts Antonín Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony. Famous for his cheerful, folk music based works, this composition shows a different side to the composer with its melancholic, sombre and combative tone.

Lisa Batiashvili (photo: Chris Singer)