Igor Levit (photo: Felix Broede/Sony Classical)

Chamber Music

Biennale of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Igor Levit piano

Paul Hindemith

In einer Nacht… Träume und Erlebnisse, op. 15

Arnold Schoenberg

Suite, op. 25

Ferruccio Busoni

Toccata, op. 4

Paul Hindemith

Suite 1922, op. 26

Dates and Tickets

Unfortunately, this concert is cancelled.

Wed, 24 Feb 2021, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall


Hindemith’s virtuosic Suite1922, a parodistic mix of dissonances and dance hall music, was part of the programme with which Igor Levit, the youngest participant, won the Anton Rubinstein competition in 2005. At this concert the pianist combines the piece with works composed in the early 1920s, after the apocalypse of the First World War: the legendary Suite in which Schoenberg used his twelve-tone technique for the first time, Busoni’s fascinating Toccata inspired by Bach, and Hindemith’s composition In einer Nacht(In a Night), which forms a lyrical contrast to the keyboard thunder of the Suite1922.

Igor Levit (photo: Felix Broede/Sony Classical)