Alan Gilbert (photo: Peter Hundert)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Alan Gilbert conductor

Sunwook Kim piano

Anton Webern

Im Sommerwind, Idyll for large orchestra

Unsuk Chin

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

Sunwook Kim piano

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, op. 25 (orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg)

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 03 Jun 2021, 20:00


Serie G

Fri, 04 Jun 2021, 20:00


Serie F


The early 20th century was not only influenced by avant-garde concepts but was also characterized by an unbridled passion for intoxicating sounds. Alan Gilbert, chief conductor of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, demonstrates that in this programme. We can almost feel the gentle breeze that Anton Webern evokes in his impressionist early work Im Sommerwind (In the Summer Wind). And Arnold Schoenberg clearly took great pleasure in intensifying the colours of Brahms’s Piano Quartet No. 1, drawing on all the orchestra’s resources. Unsuk Chin’s iridescent, sensuous Piano Concerto will be heard between the two works, with Sunwook Kim as soloist.

Alan Gilbert (photo: Peter Hundert)