Tabea Zimmermann (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Chamber Music


Tabea Zimmermann viola

Jean-Guihen Queyras cello

Belcea Quartet

Johannes Brahms

String Sextet No. 1 in B flat major, op. 18

Johannes Brahms

String Sextet No. 2 in G major, op. 36

Dates and Tickets

sales information


For Artist in Residence Tabea Zimmermann, chamber music is a matter of the heart. At this concert the violist joins forces with cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras and the Belcea Quartet to present Johannes Brahms’s two string sextets. They are marvellous, sensitive works, in which Brahms’s friend Theodor Billroth discovered an almost “unbearable beauty”. Particularly fascinating is the unusual instrumentation of the ensemble, which provides both a full sound and transparency.

Tabea Zimmermann (photo: Marco Borggreve)