Paavo Järvi (photo: Yong Bin)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Paavo Järvi conductor

Igor Levit piano

Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in E flat major, op. 73

Igor Levit piano

Sergei Prokofiev

Symphony No. 6 in E flat minor, op. 111

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 04 Mar 2021, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Serie A

Fri, 05 Mar 2021, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Serie C


A work that “really makes you happy”: that is how Igor Levit described Beethoven’s brilliant E flat major Piano Concerto, in which – amid the tension between individual and collective – the orchestra and solo part combine to form an integral whole. In contrast, sections of Prokofiev’s E flat minor Symphony are supposed to sound like “wind sweeping over a churchyard”. The slow middle movement alternates between aggressiveness and lament, while rhythmic interjections in the finale symbolize – in the words of the composer – “the forces of evil”. E flat major versus E flat minor: both works are in good hands with Paavo Järvi.

Paavo Järvi (photo: Yong Bin)