Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture after Shakespeare

Sergei Rachmaninov

Isle of the Dead, Symphonic Poem, op. 29

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Francesca da Rimini, Fantasy for Orchestra, op. 32

Dates and Tickets

sales information
Unfortunately, this event is cancelled.

Thu, 14 Jan 2021, 20:00


Unfortunately, this concert is cancelled.

Fri, 15 Jan 2021, 20:00


This concert will take place without an audience and will be broadcast live in the Digital Concert Hall.

Sat, 16 Jan 2021, 19:00


Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast


In this concert, Kirill Petrenko presents three impassioned symphonic poems from Russia. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky is represented by two tragic love stories: the Fantasy Overture Romeo and Juliet – the 29-year-old composer’s first masterpiece – and the symphonic poem Francesca da Rimini. Unfortunately, Sergei Rachmaninov’s opera on the same subject, which was originally planned for this concert, cannot be performed due to the corona pandemic; in its place, we will hear the composer’s mysterious and sombre Isle of the Dead.


Since the 2019/20 season, Kirill Petrenko has been chief conductor and artistic director of the Berliner Philharmoniker. He received his training first in Russia, then in Austria. The international music world first became aware of him when he premiered Wagner’s Ring of the Nibelung at the Meiningen Theater in 2001, directed by Christine Mielitz and designed by Alfred Hrdlicka, performed on four consecutive days. He conducted the cycle for the second time twelve years later at the Bayreuth Festival. At the same time, Kirill Petrenko took up his post as general music director of Bayerische Staatsoper, his third leading position at an opera house after Meiningen and the Komische Oper Berlin. He also made guest appearances at the world’s top opera houses (from the Wiener Staatsoper, Covent Garden in London and the Opéra National in Paris to the Metropolitan Opera in New York) as well as with the great international symphony orchestras – in Vienna, Munich, Dresden, Paris, Amsterdam, London, Rome, Chicago, Cleveland and Israel. He made his debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker in 2006. Kirill Petrenko also appears with the Berliner Philharmoniker outside of Berlin – on tour and of course in the Digital Concert Hall. Selected performances are also available as recordings; most recently released was an edition with symphonic works by Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, Franz Schmidt and Rudi Stephan.

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)