Semyon Bychkov (photo: Sheila Rock)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Semyon Bychkov conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, op. 35

Lisa Batiashvili violin

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 8 in C minor, op. 65

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 07 Jan 2021, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Fri, 08 Jan 2021, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:10

Sat, 09 Jan 2021, 19:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 18:10

Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast


In accordance with one of our season emphases, this evening focuses on Russian music: Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, composed after the composer experienced a phase of radical personal crises, is “unviolinistic”, Leopold Auer, to whom the work is dedicated, once stated. Lisa Batiashvili will make tangible that this is not the case at all. “The inhuman” is the theme of Shostakovich’s Eighth Symphony, completed in 1943: he describes the brutality of war, exposes the empty pomp of military deployments, and finds moving tones for humanity’s sorrow in the face of horrors.

Semyon Bychkov (photo: Sheila Rock)

Lisa Batiashvili (photo: Chris Singer)