Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Pablo Sáinz-Villegas guitar

“New Year’s Eve Concert”

Ludwig van Beethoven

Leonore Overture No. 3 in C major, op. 72

Manuel de Falla

El amor brujo: Introduction and Ritual Fire Dance

Joaquín Rodrigo

Concierto de Aranjuez for guitar and orchestra

Pablo Sáinz-Villegas guitar


Spanish Romance from the film Jeux interdits (arr. Chris Hazell)

Pablo Sáinz-Villegas guitar

Heitor Villa-Lobos

Bachianas Brasileiras No. 4

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Capriccio on Spanish Themes, op. 34

Dmitri Shostakovich

The Gadfly, Suite from the film music, op. 97a: No. 3 Folk Feast

Dates and Tickets

Unfortunately, this concert is cancelled.

Tue, 29 Dec 2020, 20:00


Unfortunately, this concert is cancelled.

Wed, 30 Dec 2020, 20:00


This concert will take place without an audience and will be broadcast in the Digital Concert Hall, by arte and rbb kultur.

Thu, 31 Dec 2020, 18:00


Live in the Digital Concert Hall


These concerts with chief conductor Kirill Petrenko provide an end to the year under the southern sun. The first stop is Spain, with sparkling ballet music by Manuel de Falla and Joaquín Rodrigo’s delicate Concierto de Aranjuez, featuring star guitarist Pablo Sáinz-Villegas. There is a detour to South America with Heitor Villa-Lobos’s Bachianas brasileiras No. 4 and finally the Capriccio espagnol, in which Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov exudes a vibrant southern temperament with Russian colouring. As a tribute to Ludwig van Beethoven, the concert opens with the Leonore Overture No. 3.

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Stephan Rabold)