Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko conductor

Andrew Norman

Sabina (arr. for string orchestra)

Richard Strauss

Metamorphosen for 23 solo strings

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, op. 70

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 29 Oct 2020, 20:00


Fri, 30 Oct 2020, 20:00


Sat, 31 Oct 2020, 11:00


Sat, 31 Oct 2020, 19:00


Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast

Wed, 11 Nov 2020, 20:00


Thu, 12 Nov 2020, 20:00



Chief conductor Kirill Petrenko presents two works that reflect the end of the Second World War in very different ways. On the one hand Richard Strauss’ Metamorphosen: a web of sound for 23 solo strings that with warmth and transparency mourns a devastated world. In the case of Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony, the Soviet rulers hoped for a victory symphony – but received a bright, ironic work that refuses to rejoice. We also hear Andrew Norman’s Sabina, a sound painting full of iridescent reflections of light.

Kirill Petrenko (photo: Monika Rittershaus)