Arditti Quartet (photo: Astrid Karger)

Chamber Music

Wochenende Neue Musik

Arditti Quartet:

Irvine Arditti violin

Ashot Sarkissjan violin

Ralf Ehlers viola

Lucas Fels cello

Sofia Gubaidulina

String Quartet No. 2

Kaija Saariaho

Terra memoria, String Quartet No. 2

Betsy Jolas

Neues Werk

Unsuk Chin

ParaMetaString (New Version)

Tansy Davies

Neues Werk

Dates and Tickets

sales information


“The adventure of performing a piece for an audience for the very first time – there’s nothing like it,” Irvine Arditti says. His ensemble has decisively influenced contemporary music for more than 45 years. At this portrait concert for women composers, the Arditti Quartet will present new music by British Tansy Davies and French Betsy Jolas. Also to be performed: Kaija Saariaho’s Terra memoria, dedicated “for those departed”, and Sofia Gubaidulina’s String Quartet No. 2, in which unsettling tremolo movements encounter gentle vibrations and hovering tones.

Arditti Quartet (photo: Astrid Karger)