Sir Simon Rattle (photo: Oliver Helbig)

Simon Rattle conducts Strauss and Beethoven

In his Oboe Concerto, Richard Strauss magically succeeds in composing in the spirit of Mozart and Schubert without denying his own artistic identity. Simon Rattle performs the work with the Philharmoniker’s principal oboe, Jonathan Kelly. He then presents Beethoven’s oratory Christus am Ölberge, which conveys less spiritual devotion than opera-like expression, such as in a dramatic scene that describes the arrest of Jesus.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Jonathan Kelly oboe

Iwona Sobotka soprano

Benjamin Bruns tenor

David Soar baritone

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Simon Halsey chorus master

Richard Strauss

Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra in D major

Jonathan Kelly oboe

Ludwig van Beethoven

Christus am Ölberge (Christ on the Mount of Olives), Oratorio, op. 85

Iwona Sobotka soprano, Benjamin Bruns tenor, David Soar baritone, Rundfunkchor Berlin, Simon Halsey chorus master

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 05 Mar 2020, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Serie B

Fri, 06 Mar 2020, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Serie M

Sat, 07 Mar 2020, 19:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 18:15

Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast

Sir Simon Rattle (photo: Oliver Helbig)