Jakub Hrůša (photo: Pavel Hejnz)

Jakub Hrůša presents symphonic dramas and a discovery

Jakub Hrůša presents enthralling settings of three dark tales. We experience Shakespeare’s Othello in the gripping tonal language of Antonín Dvořák, witness the last moments of Cleopatra in Hector Berlioz’s eponymous psychological drama (soloist: Stephanie d'Oustrac), and Béla Bartók tells with brutal energy the sinister story of The Miraculous Mandarin. Plus a discovery: the inexorable progress of the passacaglia Mysterium času (Mystery of Time) by Miloslav Kabelác.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Jakub Hrůša conductor

Stéphanie d'Oustrac mezzo-soprano

Miloslav Kabeláč

Mysterium času (Mystery of Time), Passacaglia for large Orchestra, op. 31

Antonín Dvořák

Concert Overture “Othello”, op. 93

Hector Berlioz

Cléopâtre, Lyric Scene

Stéphanie d'Oustrac mezzo-soprano

Béla Bartók

The Miraculous Mandarin, Suite, Sz 73

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Thu, 12 Dec 2019, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Serie B

Fri, 13 Dec 2019, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:15

Serie L

Jakub Hrůša (photo: Pavel Hejnz)