(photo: Peter Adamik)

Karajan Academy

Contemporary music and classics of Modernism with the Karajan Academy

The composer, pianist and conductor Gregor Mayrhofer, a conducting student at the Berliner Philharmoniker’s Karajan Academy, presents a programme full of variety together with other academy students and the soprano Sophie Klußmann. It is framed by two classics of Modernism: Luigi Dallapicola’s atmospheric night music Piccola musica notturna and Franz Schreker’s chamber symphony, whose unusual line-up enabled the composer to create an iridescently fantastic sound world. Another of the evening's highlights is the performance of Gregor Mayrhofer's Insect Concerto, commissioned by the WWF.

Scholars of the Karajan Academy

Gregor Mayrhofer conductor

Sophie Klußmann soprano

Academy IV

Luigi Dallapiccola

Piccola musica notturna

Claudio Ambrosini

La donna danada

Stefano Gervasoni


George Benjamin

At first Light

Gregor Mayrhofer

The Insect Concerto

Franz Schreker


Dates and Tickets

Sun, 20 Jan 2019, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 19:00

Serie KA


Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker e.V.

Herbert-von-Karajan-Straße 1

Visit website


The composer, pianist and conductor Gregor Mayrhofer was Sir Simon Rattle’s assistant in Berlin and is a conducting scholar at the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Prior to that, he completed his studies with Alan Gilbert at the Juilliard School in New York after studying composition and conducting in Paris, Munich and Düsseldorf.

Together with other Karajan Academy scholars and soprano Sophie Klußmann, Mayrhofer presents a varied programme flanked by two classic works of Modernism: Luigi Dallapiccola’s atmospheric night music Piccola musica notturna, whose introverted and fragile sounds are repeatedly interrupted by ghostly interjections, and Franz Schreker’s Chamber Symphony, in which the composer created an iridescently fantastic soundscape with unusual instrumentation.

In addition to the Insect Concerto, a work by Gregor Mayrhofer, listeners will hear La donna danada by Claudio Ambrosini, who was born in Venice in 1948, and Stefano Gervasoni’s highly expressive concerted work Godspell for mezzo-soprano, flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, celesta and string quintet, with texts by the American poet Philip Levine. As part of composer George Benjamin’s residency, the musicians will present another virtuosically orchestrated ensemble piece, At First Light, which was inspired by William Turner’s painting Norham Castle, Sunrise and depicts a “celebration of the colours and noises of daybreak” (Benjamin) with iridescent “light sounds”.

(photo: Peter Adamik)

Sophie Klußmann (photo: Joachim Gern)