Claudio Abbado (photo: Erika Rabau)

In memoriam Claudio Abbado

The Mahler Chamber Orchestra, founded in 1997 by Claudio Abbado and former members of the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, is considered one of the leading chamber orchestras of our time. Its appearance in the Chamber Music Hall marks the end of a concert series organised by the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation to mark the fifth anniversary of the death of Claudio Abbado. The programme, with compositions by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Joseph Haydn, subtly refers to this anniversary. The pianist Leif Ove Andsnes plays the piano part in Mozart’s Piano Quartet K. 478 and the Piano Concerto K. 499.

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Matthew Truscott violin and direction

Leif Ove Andsnes piano

Soloists of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Maurerische Trauermusik (Masonic Funeral Music) in C minor, KV 477

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Quartet in G minor, K. 478

Joseph Haydn

Symphony No. 83 in G minor “La Poule”

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 20 in D minor, K. 466

Supported by the Aventis Foundation

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Claudio Abbado (photo: Erika Rabau)

Mahler Chamber Orchestra (photo: Manu Agah)