Patricia Kopatchinskaja (photo: Marco Borggreve)

Philharmonie »Late Night«

“Late Night” concert with Patricia Kopatchinskaja

The mysterious, expressionistic miniatures of Arnold Schoenberg’s Pierrot lunaire cycle are perfect for a Late Night concert. The wonderful violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who enjoys the experimental, recites the poems that underlie the work. The concert also includes waltzes by Johann Strauss II in arrangements by Arnold Schoenberg and Anton Webern. In these arrangements, Patricia Kopatchinskaja returns to her usual role as a violinist.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin and narrator

Tamara Stefanovich piano

Krzysztof Polonek violin

Naoko Shimizu viola

Ludwig Quandt cello

Egor Egorkin flute

Manfred Preis clarinet

George Enescu

Ménétrier (The Country Fiddler), No. 1 from Impressions dʼenfance (Childhood Impressions), op. 28

Arnold Schoenberg

Pierrot lunaire, op. 21, 1st Part

Johann Strauß (Sohn)

Kaiserwalzer, op. 437 (arr. for chamber ensemble by Schoenberg)

Arnold Schoenberg

Pierrot lunaire, op. 21, 2nd Part

Johann Strauß (Sohn)

Schatzwalzer, op. 418 (arr. for string quartet, piano und Harmonium by Webern)

Arnold Schoenberg

Pierrot lunaire, op. 21, 3rd Part

Dates and Tickets

Sat, 09 Mar 2019, 22:00


Live in the Digital Concert Hallgo to broadcast


“I have played the Pierrot many times as a violinist,” Patricia Kopatchinskaja writes on her website. “But I always longed to do the speaker’s/singer’s part once.” We are talking about Arnold Schoenberg’s melodrama Pierrot lunaire, whose public premiere took place on 16 October 1912 and became a triumph: “Schoenberg and the performers,” Anton Webern reported, “had to return again and again, first and foremost of course Schoenberg; they clamoured for him in the hall repeatedly.”

When Patricia Kopatchinskaja was able to practice less than usual because of an arm condition, the violin virtuoso, originally from Moldova, began to learn Pierrot’s Sprechgesang “under the professional guidance of Esther de Bros”. “After a year’s work,” the virtuoso writes, “I took the plunge in October 2017 with musicians of the Utah Symphony and Thierry Fischer – in the adventurous surroundings of the Sky Salt Lake City Nightclub.” Now Patricia Kopatchinskaja will also present Schoenberg’s expressionistically honed miniatures in the scope of this Philharmonic Late Night, jointly with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker and guests.

Also on this concert: waltzes by Johann Strauss II in arrangements by Arnold Schoenberg and Anton Webern, premiered on 27 May 1921 at a legendary concert of the “Society for Private Musical Performances”. Not only the oddity of the stylistic contrast, but also Schoenberg’s humorous emceeing contributed significantly to the success of the evening.

Patricia Kopatchinskaja (photo: Marco Borggreve)