Daniil Trifonov (photo: Dario Acosta)

Chamber Music

Daniil Trifonov und Mitglieder der Berliner Philharmoniker

In diesem Konzert lernen wir Daniil Trifonov, philharmonischer Artist in Residence, von einer neuen Seite kennen: der des Komponisten. Gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker präsentiert er sein Klavierquintett – ein Werk, das mit eingängiger Rhythmik einem durch und durch spätromantischem Tonfall verpflichtet ist: »Es ist einfach der Weg, meine musikalischen Gedanken am besten auszudrücken« (Trifonov). Ebenfalls an diesem Abend zu hören: Johannes Brahms’ bekanntes Klavierquintett f-Moll und Robert Schumanns Fantasiestücke für Violoncello und Klavier.

Daniil Trifonov piano

Daniel Stabrawa violin

Christophe Horák violin

Amihai Grosz viola

Bruno Delepelaire cello

Robert Schumann

Fantasy Pieces for Cello and Piano, op. 73

Daniil Trifonov

Piano Quintet

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Sun, 23 Jun 2019, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 19:00

Serie Q


Daniil Trifonov was already musically active before he found “his” instrument at the age of five and a half: “I first discovered the piano through composing!” He constantly tried out “different things on the midi keyboard. [...] I loved the synthesizer and the buttons and the sounds. [...] When we moved to Moscow, I didn’t have time to compose for several years. I started again later.” Trifonov, who graduated in composition in addition to his piano studies, still writes his own works for piano, chamber ensemble and orchestra. His technically very demanding Piano Concerto in E flat minor received its premiere in Cleveland on 23 April 2014 (“It’s unbelievable, even after seeing it for yourself,” wrote the reviewer for the Cleveland Plain Dealer) and the work has since been heard in numerous follow-up performances.

Together with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Daniil Trifonov (the orchestra’s artist in residence this season) now presents his Piano Quintet in this concert – a work with catchy rhythm and a thoroughly late-Romantic sound: “It’s simply the way to best express my musical thoughts” (Trifonov). The concert also incudes Johannes Brahms’s famous Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34 and Robert Schumann’s Fantasiestücke for Cello and Piano, op. 73: three atmospheric pictures conceived as a light and airy whole, of which the first is languorous, the second cheerfully upbeat and the third full of fiery, virtuoso energy.

Daniil Trifonov (photo: Dario Acosta)