Philharmonia Quartett (photo: Stefan Röhl)

Chamber Music

The Philharmonia Quartet plays Szymanowski, Beethoven and Janáček

The Philharmonia Quartet has a penchant for unusual programming. In this concert, it presents two milestones of the modern quartet repertoire: Karol Szymanowski’s 1927 Second String Quartet, and Leoš Janáček’s String Quartet No. 2 Intimate Letters, written almost a the same time, and in which he makes a musical declaration of love to the 38-years-younger Kamilla Stösslova, the muse his final years. Between these two works, they also perform the sixth of the op. 18 string quartets by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Philharmonia Quartett:

Daniel Stabrawa 1st violin

Christian Stadelmann 2nd violin

Neithard Resa viola

Dietmar Schwalke cello

Karol Szymanowski

String Quartet No. 2, op. 56

Ludwig van Beethoven

String Quartet in B flat major, op. 18 No. 6

Leoš Janáček

String Quartet No. 2 Intimate Letters

Dates and Tickets

sales information

Sun, 31 Mar 2019, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 19:00

Serie T

Philharmonia Quartett (photo: Stefan Röhl)