Musikfest Berlin

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Christoph Eschenbach conductor

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Tzimon Barto piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Don Giovanni. Ouvertüre (arr. von Ferruccio Busoni)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

"Ch'io mi scordi di te?" - "Non temer, amato bene", Rezitativ und Arie für Sopran KV 505

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Wolfgang Rihm

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No .2

Tzimon Barto piano

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Symphony No. 4 in A major, op. 90 Italian

A Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin event in cooperation with the Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

sales information


Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Charlottenstraße 56 (2. OG)
10117 Berlin

Phone: +49 (30) 20 29 87 11

Fax: +49 (30) 20 29 87 29

Contact via email

Visit website


Wolfgang Rihm wrote his second piano concerto for Tzimon Barto in 2014. He was particularly impressed by the American pianist’s “sensationally ‘risky’” pianissimo. This inspired the whole first part of the composition. The “singing act”, which the pianist wrests from his instrument, dialogues by the protagonist and orchestral soloists, and Rihm’s special art of creating an impression of depth using the timbre and tones of orchestral sound, determine large sections of this one-movement work. Rihm composed it as a “musique fleuve”, a forever-continuing piece without a pointer, one which pushes, accelerates, pauses, occasionally casts around and waits for the impulse to continue. The virtuosity demanded of the pianist is part of its incisive sound and ever-evolving motion. Christoph Eschenbach, who has already conducted the work several times since his joint premiere with Tzimon Barto, has intensified his collaboration with the Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester in recent years. He presents Rihm’s concerto in-between two compositions that come alive from the proverbial “italianità” or Italian influence in music: Mozart’s double concerto for soprano, piano and orchestra, a pearl in the repertoire of concert arias, and Mendelssohn’s Fourth Symphony, which has absorbed as much influence from the antiquity’s classicism as from the magic and melancholy of the south.

(photo: Federico Fellini )