(photo: Federico Fellini)

Musikfest Berlin

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Vladimir Jurowski conductor

Christian Tetzlaff violin

Max Hopp speaker

Sven Philipp speaker

Inaugural concert of Vladimir Jurowski

Isang Yun

Dimensionen for large Orchestra and Solo Organ

Arnold Schoenberg

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, op. 36

Christian Tetzlaff violin

Luigi Nono

Julius Fučík for two Reciters and Orchestra

Max Hopp speaker, Sven Philipp speaker

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67 ith orchestra retouchings by Gustav Mahler

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

Sun, 17 Sep 2017, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 18:45

Online Sale


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Abonnement- und Kartenbüro
Charlottenstraße 56
10117 Berlin

Phone: +49 (30) 20 29 87 15

Fax: +49 (30) 20 29 87 29

Contact via email

Visit website


The inaugural concert arouses expectations. Vladimir Jurowski and the Radio Symphony Orchestra Berlin are already acquainted through joint projects. But during the Musikfest, the 45-year-old will step up to the conductor’s stand for the first time as the chief conductor and artistic director of the orchestra. His credo is that “music makes demands”. The first part establishes what Boris Schwartz called the “signature of the 20th century”: the drama of escape, exile, and the question of art’s position; the emphasis of new beginnings in Beethoven’s most famous “public address to the human race” (Adorno) brings the concert to a close. International protests ensured that Isang Yun was liberated after his kidnapping and imprisonment by the South Korean secret service. He chose Berlin as his base to work. A Taoist world view forms the programme of Dimensions, in which Yun wanted to incorporate “the principle of ‘mobility in immobility’”, the living, individual microcosm within the constant, universal macrocosm” (H. Kunz). Arnold Schoenberg’s Violin Concerto, a response to the last work of his pupil, Alban Berg, was his first great composition in American exile. For his oratorio Julius Fučik, of which he completed only the first part, Luigi Nono drew on texts by the eponymous Czech resistance fighter, who was murdered by the Nazis in 1943. His Notes from the Gallows were considered to be required anti-fascist reading. Excerpts from them are recited in the music. Nono pursued this theme and the writer far in the 1960s.

(photo: Federico Fellini)