Wollny Trio (photo: Jörg Steinmetz)

Chamber Music

Jazz at Berlin Philharmonic

Happy Birthday, Michael Wollny

Not everyone gets a concert for their birthday – but when the birthday boy is Michael Wollny, who happens to be one of the major jazz pianists of our time, then a concert in the Berlin Philharmonie is only appropriate. He celebrates his 40th birthday with drummer Eric Schaefer and bass player Christian Weber, the current members of the Michael Wollny Trio, plus the Norwegian Wind Ensemble, conducted by Geir Lysne.

Michael Wollny Trio:

Michael Wollny piano

Christian Weber double bass

Eric Schaefer drums

Norwegian Wind Ensemble

Geir Lysne direction


Heinz Sauer saxophone

Émile Parisien saxophone

Vincent Peirani accordion

Michael Wollny 40 – The Birthday Concert

Curated by Siggi Loch

Dates and Tickets

Choir seats available at the box office from 3 April on.

Tue, 29 May 2018, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:00

Serie P

Wollny Trio (photo: Jörg Steinmetz)