Karajan-Akademie (photo: Tim Deussen)

Karajan Academy

In memory of Claudio Abbado

“It is a great honour for me to be associated with such an exceptional artist as Claudio Abbado,” says Vito Žuraj, winner of the Claudio Abbado composition prize. The Slovenian is regarded as one of the most creative minds of the young composer scene today. The work, Alavò, inspired by Abbado’s biography, is given its premiere by the students of the Karajan Academy. They also perform works by Robert Schumann and Žuraj's teacher, Wolfgang Rihm.

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Stanley Dodds direction

Rinnat Moriah soprano

Jean-Frédéric Neuburger piano

Academy I

Wolfgang Rihm

Chiffre II “ Silence to be beaten” for 14 players

Stanley Dodds direction

Wolfgang Rihm

Mnemosyne for high soprano and ensemble after Hölderlin

Stanley Dodds direction, Rinnat Moriah soprano

Robert Schumann

Piano Quintet in E flat major, op. 44

Jean-Frédéric Neuburger piano

Vito Žuraj

Alavò for soprano, piano and instrumental groups

Patrick Hahn, Stanley Dodds direction, Rinnat Moriah soprano, Jean-Frédéric Neuburger piano

Dates and Tickets

Sun, 05 Nov 2017, 11:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 10:00

Serie KA


In memory of its chief conductor of many years Claudio Abbado, who died in 2014, and his sustained commitment to supporting young musicians, the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation awards the Claudio Abbado Composition Prize at irregular intervals in support of its Herbert von Karajan Academy. In 2016, the award went to Vito Žuraj, born in Maribor, Slovenia in 1979. He received his training as a composer at the Academy of Music of the University of Ljubljana and the University of Music Carl Maria von Weber Dresden; Further studies include at the University of Music Karlsruhe, where he attended Wolfgang Rihm’s composition class and also graduated in music and technology.

Žuraj, who has received support from the International Ensemble Modern Academy, Deutsche Bank’s “Academy Opera Today” Foundation, and the Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo, has already seen his works performed by internationally renowned orchestras and ensembles such as the New York Philharmonic, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Ensemble Modern and the RIAS Kammerchor; his first opera was premiered by Theater Bielefeld in 2013. In addition to Žuraj’s composition for the Herbert von Karajan Academy, the soprano Mojca Erdmann and the pianist Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, the 2017/2018 season also sees premieres of works commissioned by the Konzerthaus in Vienna and the Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik.

In this award winner concert in the chamber music hall of the Berlin Philharmonie, the premiere of Alavò for soprano, piano and instrumental groups, conducted by the Philharmoniker’s violinist Stanley Dodds, is preceded by performances of two works by Žuraj’s teacher, Wolfgang Rihm; plus, Jean-Frédéric Neuburger and members of the Herbert von Karajan Academy perform Robert Schumann’s 1842 grand Piano Quintet in E major, op. 44.

Karajan-Akademie (photo: Tim Deussen)