mfb17_magazin_09_03_gringolts (photo: Anonym)

Musikfest Berlin

Ilya Gringolts violin

Salvatore Sciarrino

6 Capricci for Solo Violin

Nicolò Paganini

24 Capricci for Solo Violin, op. 1

Dates and Tickets

Sun, 03 Sep 2017, 11:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 10:00

Online Sale


They are the baptismal fire for any violinist: the 24 Caprices by Niccolò Paganini, the romantic instrumental magician par excellence. Each of them represents a special challenge; to play all of them in succession as a cycle requires peak, even Olympian, standards of violin-playing. As a group of works, they reveal not only their superficially brilliant, but above all, substantial musical qualities. As expansive character pieces, they are similar to Chopin or Liszt’s etudes; they offer an intense one-man musical theatre with a vast range of artistic expression. As if this were not enough, Ilya Gringolts combines Paganini’s blazing, miraculous works with Salvatore Sciarrino’s Six Caprices. Written in 1976, they take on direct relation to the aforementioned, exploring them from new terrain, especially in the sections where the violin responds most tenderly and sensitively: namely, in the overtone spectra reaches of the flageolet. In the special aura of this sound world, the pieces resemble short narratives about the unlimited possibilities and infinite sensitivity of music.

mfb17_magazin_09_03_gringolts (photo: Anonym)