Musikfest Berlin

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin

Jakub Hrůša Conductor

Robyn Schulkowsky Percussion

György Ligeti

Concert Românesc for orchestra

Olga Neuwirth

Trurliade-Zone Zero for percussion and orchestra, commissioned by the Lucerne Festival German Première

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 4 in D minor op. 13

Eine Veranstaltung des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

Sun, 11 Sep 2016, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 18:55


As a young man, György Ligeti spent some time studying at Bukarest’s Folklore Institute, exploring the rhythmic diversity of Romanian and Hungarian folk music. Their complex rhythms have influenced his early piece Concert Românesc from the year 1951, but they were also a source of inspiration for his later compositions, his micropolyphonic sound surfaces Atmosphères or Lontano, which brought him great renown. Austrian composer Olga Neuwirth pushes all boundaries between forms, genres and sounds, surprising us with ever new solutions. Her piece for percussion and orchestra will be presented at Musikfest Berlin as a German premiere, only shortly after its world premiere at the Lucerne Festival. Soloist Martin Grubinger is one of the most exciting percussionists of our times. The Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin will be conducted in this concert by Jakub Hrůša, who was the youngest conductor since 1949 to lead the opening concert of the international music festival Prague Spring in 2010. Hrůša, the designated principal conductor of the Bamberger Philharmoniker, will be performing at Musikfest Berlin for the first time. He will also conduct a great, albeit rarely heard, symphony by a fellow Czech: Antonín Dvořák’s Fourth Symphony.

Musikfest Berlin 2018

Highlights of the programme

read more