Musikfest Berlin

The Konzerthausorchester Berlin and Iván Fischer

Hans Werner Henze’s Vitalino raddoppiato for solo violin and chamber orchestra, inspired by the Baroque master Tommaso Vitali, radiates Italian lightness. Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 7 follows, which oscillates between sophisticated construction and Romantic dazzling. The Konzerthausorchester Berlin will be conducted by their principal conductor Iván Fischer; the soloist of the evening is the violinist Julia Fischer.

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Iván Fischer Conductor

Julia Fischer Violin

Hans Werner Henze

Il Vitalino raddoppiato, Ciacona per violino concertante ed orchestra da camera

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 7 in E major

Eine Veranstaltung des Konzerthaus Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele/Musikfest Berlin

Dates and Tickets

Thu, 08 Sep 2016, 20:00

Philharmonie | Introduction: 19:00


Throughout his life, espressivo and cantabile were guiding principles in the music of passionate Italian-by-choice Hans Werner Henze. No wonder that he now and then was inspired by the epoch that is strongly marked by the golden age of Italian violin construction: Henze’s Vitalino raddoppiato composition for solo violin and chamber orchestra draws reference to Baroque master Tommaso Vitali. Anton Bruckner composed his symphonies during the heyday of the Romantic orchestra, when it became more elaborate and differentiated. With his Symphony No. 7 in E major Bruckner emancipated himself – despite the implementation of Wagner tubas in the horn section – from his role model Richard Wagner. In it, he created the squaring of the circle between Wagner’s “endless melody” and a virtually classicistic balance, but also between sophisticated construction and Romantic overpowering strategies. The Konzerthausorchester Berlin performs under its chief conductor Iván Fischer. Soloist of the evening is violinist Julia Fischer.