(photo: Tim Deussen)

Karajan Academy

Ton Koopman conducts the Orchestra Academy

It’s just plain fun to watch Ton Koopman conduct. The renowned Baroque specialist uses his whole body to convey to the instrumentalists how to bring to life his beloved music of the 18th century. The scholars of the Orchestra Academy will be able to profit from the knowledge of the Dutch conductor, organist and harpsichordist when he conducts them in works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Joseph Haydn and Franz Schubert.

Orchestra Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Ton Koopman Conductor

Academy III

Johann Sebastian Bach

Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major BWV 1068

Joseph Haydn

Sinfonia concertante for oboe, basson, violin, cello and orchestra in B flat major Hob. I:105

Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 5 in B flat major D 485

In co-operation with the Esterházy Privatstiftung

Dates and Tickets

Sat, 25 Feb 2017, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall


It’s just plain fun to watch Ton Koopman conduct. That’s because for the renowned Baroque specialist, when he brings his beloved music of the 18th century to life, the signals are always emitted from his whole body. At the third Academy concert of the season, the scholars of the Philharmonic Orchestra Academy take on – together with the Dutch conductor, organist and harpsichordist – Johann Sebastian Bach’s Orchestral Suite BWV 1069, in which moments of the French music tradition are artfully combined with Italian models. When we look more closely, the fast, fugal part of the overture already reveals itself as a veritable concerto movement: Bach clearly shared the view of Dresden’s court music director, Johann David Heinichen, who promoted “a felicitous mélange of the Italian and French tastes” that would “affect the ear most forcefully”.

With Haydn’s Sinfonia concertante, his only contribution to the hybrid genre that melds concerto and symphony, the programme continues with a composition that provides four instrumental soloists with the opportunity to present their virtuosity. Haydn succeeded in the Finale in pulling off one of his innumerable strokes of genius, as, tongue in cheek, the music is structured in the style of an opera recitative in which the solo violin takes over the part of the capricious opera diva. Franz Schubert composed his Fifth Symphony, which concludes the concert, in the tradition of Haydn and Mozart: a work of graceful effortlessness and marked balance, in which cantabile melody and symphonic progression balance each other out.

(photo: Tim Deussen)

Ton Koopman (photo: Jaap van de Klomp)