(photo: Raphae?l Faux Rougemont)

Chamber Music

Piano recital with András Schiff III

With this concert, András Schiff will complete his series of piano pieces by Bach, Bartók, Janáček and Schumann. Once again, the appeal of the programme is in how it has been put together: beside Bach’s Capriccio in B flat major and duets from the Clavier-Übung III, the pianist will take on six dances and Béla Bartók’s only piano sonata. He will also perform Leoš Janáček’s piano cycle In the Mists and Robert Schumann’s highly romantic Fantasy op. 17.

Sir András Schiff Piano

Johann Sebastian Bach

Capriccio in B flat major sopra la lontananza del fratello dilettissimo BWV 992

Béla Bartók

Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm from Mikrokosmos Sz 107, Book VI

Johann Sebastian Bach

4 Duets BWV 802 – 805

Béla Bartók

Piano Sonata Sz 80

Leoš Janáček

In the Mists

Robert Schumann

Fantasy in C major op. 17

Dates and Tickets


Bach’s Capriccio in B flat major BWV 992 “Sopra la lontananza del suo fratello dilettissimo” [“Capriccio on the departure of the Beloved Brother”] is introduced by an arioso in which smooth parallel sixths stand for “the friends’ flattery” – with which they try to deter their “Beloved Brother” from embarking on his journey. There follow four more programmatic movements, including a fugue which strides through remote keys in quick succession, alluding to the countless dangers that lie in wait farther afield, whereas in the concluding “Fuga della cornetto di Postiglione” the octave call of the contemporary post horn nonetheless sets the seal on the departure.

Besides Bach’s Capriccio in B flat major and his four Duets BWV 802-805 from the Clavier-Übung III, András Schiff will take on Béla Bartók’s six dances in Bulgarian rhythms from the sixth volume of Mikrokosmos, as well as his piano sonata, in which avant-garde and folksong inspiration converge; the work is considered one of the Hungarian composer’s technically and musically most challenging piano pieces. After Leoš Janáček’s piano cycle In the Mists, an instrumental drama in four acts whose opening movement strikes up a balladic and sometimes dreamy tone, the recital will conclude highly romantically with Schumann’s Fantasy op. 17. In the first movement, to be performed “completely fantastically and passionately”, the outer voices rise above an iridescent sound foundation. There follows an “energetic” march, before the piece ends with a solemn Finale: “Schumann”, says András Schiff, “must sound improvised and never ‘manufactured’.”

(photo: Raphae?l Faux Rougemont)