Phantasm (photo: Marco Borggreve.)

Chamber Music

Baroque music with Concerto Melante and the gamba consort Phantasm

This concert full of the power of meditative suggestion is marked by the approaching Easter celebration: both Dieterich Buxtehude’s cantata cycle Membra Jesu nostri, in which a wounded part of the body of the crucified Christ is sung about allegorically in each cantata, and the pieces for gamba ensemble by composers from England of the 16th and 17th centuries invite to musical contemplation and reflection. These works will be interpreted by two outstanding early music ensembles: Concerto Melante and the gamba consort Phantasm.

Hana Blažíková Soprano

Barbora Kabátková Soprano

Alex Potter Countertenor

Charles Daniels Tenor

Harry van der Kamp Bass

Concerto Melante:

Raimar Orlovsky Violin

Philipp Bohnen Violin

Ulrich Wolff Viola da Gamba and Violone

Martin Heinze Violone

Björn Colell Theorbo

Léon Berben Organ


Laurence Dreyfus Treble Viol and Direction

Jonathan Manson Tenor Viol

Mikko Perkola Tenor Viol

Markku Luolajan-Mikkola Bass Viol

Dieterich Buxtehude

Cantatas from Membra Jesu Nostri BuxWV 75 alternating with English Viol Music from the 16th and 17th Centuries

Dates and Tickets


Unearthly, gentle, hovering – the tone of a gamba has a special sound quality. The string instrument experienced its heyday in the Renaissance and early Baroque, and at that time gamba ensembles were particularly appreciated for their homogeneous sound. Thanks to the early music movement, many instrumentalists have rediscovered the gamba on their own. One of them is cellist Laurence Dreyfus, who comes from a Boston family of musicians and in 1994 founded the gamba consort Phantasm; within a very short time, they gained recognition around the world. Together with Concerto Melante, the ensemble in which members of the Berliner Philharmoniker play on historical instruments, and five vocal soloists, they have created a programme full of the meditative power of suggestion.

Appropriate for the Lent period before Easter, you can hear Dietrich Buxtehude’s Membra Jesu nostri, a cycle of seven passion cantatas, in each of which a wounded part of the body of the crucified Christ is sung about allegorically, from the feet to knees, hands, side, breast, heart, to the face. The seven cantatas all have the same formal structure and are characterised by an expressive tonal language. They are a typical example of Protestant music for edification, through which listeners are to grapple in a contemplative manner with the suffering of Christ. The other works on the concert programme also invite to self-contemplation and reflection: pieces for gamba ensemble by composers in the 16th and 17th centuries from England, which at the time was leading in this type of music.

Phantasm (photo: Marco Borggreve.)