(photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)


Simon Rattle conducts Brahms, Schoenberg, Berg and Webern

Brilliant, but non-sensuous: that is many concertgoers’ opinion about the music of Arnold Schönberg and his pupils Alban Berg and Anton Webern. This concert, in which Simon Rattle presents orchestral pieces by the three composers, shows just how wrong they are: virtuoso music of overwhelming expressiveness. One important inspiration for Schönberg’s circle was Johannes Brahms, whose sun-drenched Second Symphony ends the concert.

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Conductor

Anton Webern

Six Pieces for large orchestra op. 6b

Arnold Schoenberg

Five Pieces for orchestra op. 16

Alban Berg

Three Pieces for orchestra op. 6

Johannes Brahms

Symphony No. 2 in D major op. 73

Dates and Tickets

Thu, 10 Nov 2016, 20:00

New York, Carnegie Hall


Carnegie Hall

57th Street and 7th Avenue
NYC 10019

Phone: +1 212 247 78 00

Visit website

(photo: Archiv Berliner Philharmoniker)