(photo: Dario Acosta/DG)

Chamber Music

Debut: Daniil Trifonov

Since his performance at the famous Chopin Competition in Warsaw in 2010, the Russian Daniil Trifonov has been considered one of the most exciting young pianists of his generation. Besides technical perfection and a phenomenal touch, he also has – says Martha Argerich – a demonic element. At his debut recital in the concert of the Berlin Philharmonic Foundation, the pianist will present piano works by Robert Schumann, Dmitri Shostakovich and Igor Stravinsky.

Daniil Trifonov Piano

Robert Schumann

Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood) op. 15

Robert Schumann

Toccata in C major op. 7

Robert Schumann

Kreisleriana op. 16

Dmitri Shostakovich

24 Preludes and Fugues op. 87: No. 7 in A major, No. 2 in A minor, No. 5 in D major and No. 24 in D minor

Igor Stravinsky

Three Movements from Petrushka for solo piano

Dates and Tickets

Wed, 05 Oct 2016, 20:00

Chamber Music Hall | Introduction: 19:00

Serie U: Piano


“What he does is technically incredible. It’s also his touch – he has tenderness and also the demonic element. I never heard anything like that.” This assessment of the young Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov comes from no less a source than Martha Argerich, grande dame of piano playing. Her young colleague, already much talked about at the famous Chopin Competition in Warsaw in 2010, has “everything and more” – an estimation also shared by numerous enthusiastic reviewers: for the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Daniil Trifonov’s debut at the Verbier Festival was nothing less than “a real culture shock”: this “young genius” is “the most incredible pianist you can hear”. Daniil Trifonov has been ranked in the international elite of pianism since his success at the competition.

Now he will give his debut recital on the Berlin Philharmonic Foundation concerts – with Schumann’s well-known Scenes from Childhood, his exuberant fantasy cycle Kreisleriana and his highly virtuoso C major Toccata, which Schumann himself designated “one of the most difficult pieces for the pianoforte”. Then, Daniil Trifonov will turn to a selection of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Preludes and Fugues op. 87, also highly demanding technically. With them, the Russian composer avowedly intended to continue the “fantastic tradition” of Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier by taking up Bach’s concept and translating it into his own musical language. The recital will conclude with the Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka, which Stravinsky arranged in 1921 for none other than Arthur Rubinstein.

(photo: Dario Acosta/DG)