Chamber Music

Romantic, modern, avant-garde

The Philharmonic Wind Quintet Berlin captivates with an unparalleled refined sound – nuanced, expressive and at the same time wonderfully balanced. With this programme they once again provide proof of their versatility: besides works by the late romantic composer Paul Taffanel and the neoclassicist Henri Tomasi, they will play Kalevi Aho’s Wind Quintet No. 2, composed for the ensemble; he is one of Finland’s most important contemporary composers.

Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet:

Michael Hasel Flute

Andreas Wittmann Oboe

Walter Seyfarth Clarinet

Fergus McWilliam Horn

Marion Reinhard Bassoon

Kalevi Aho

Wind Quintet No. 2 commissioned by Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation for the Berlin Philharmonic Quintet

Henri Tomasi

Cinq Danses profanes et sacrées for wind quintet

Paul Taffanel

Wind Quintet in G minor

Dates and Tickets


At the end of the 1870s, there was a revolt in the land of revolutions, one that fortunately remained without bloodshed: “The wind instruments of the Société des concerts”, it was announced in February 1879 in the Revue et gazette musicale de Paris, “have hoisted the banner of insurrection against the strings, to whom they were always subordinate. The flute is weary of rowing with them; the clarinet is sorry to futilely strike up its melancholy complaints; the oboe will cease groaning; and the bassoon declares that it has groused long enough without attaining rightful redress …”

By founding the Société de musique de chambre pour instruments à vent, Paul Taffanel, first flautist of the Société des concerts and one of the most brilliant flute virtuosos of his time, called for a “revolt” and declared battle with the string quartet as the prevailing form of chamber music in France – successfully. That’s because he succeeded in establishing the position of chamber music for winds, long forgotten, including by composing works himself, such as the late romantic Wind Quintet in G minor.

The Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet has placed this work on its programme – as well as the Cinq Danses profanes et sacrées by Henri Tomasi, which requires the highest virtuosity from the interpreters (first and foremost in the frenetic bassoon solo of the final Danse guerrière). The evening will kick off with a welcome expansion of the wind repertoire: with Kalevi Aho’s Wind Quintet Nr. 2, the premiere of which occured on 14 June 2015 at Open House Day at the Philharmonie.