16 Apr 2022

Sacrée trompette !

The evening opened with Jüri Reinvere's Notturno for orchestra Maria Anna, wach, im Nebenzimmer, which premiered at the 2021 Mozartfest Würzburg under Andris Nelsons. Reinvere describes his work as “an attunement to a concert evening“ and “a nocturne of suspension“ (source). The composer himself was present at the performance.

This was followed by the Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra in B flat major op. 94 by Mieczysław Weinberg, virtuously interpreted by soloist Håkan Hardenberger. The concerto is a work of effervescent virtuosity and ambiguous irony. You can read more about Mieczysław Weinberg here.

After the intermission, the Festspielhaus audience then listened with bated breath to Le Sacre du Printemps by Igor Stravinsky, after which the winds and percussion in particular were fiercely celebrated.

© Photos: Monika Rittershaus

Jüri Reinvere

Håkan Hardenberger

Solo bassoon Stefan Schweigert

Solo oboe Jonathan Kelly

Dominik Wollenweber

Solo clarinet Wenzel Fuchs