Klaus Lederer

Senator for Culture and Europe

(Photo: Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa)

Dear concert guests of the Berliner Philharmoniker,

An exciting artistic and musical year lies ahead, not only for you, but also for the Berliner Philharmoniker themselves. Kirill Petrenko begins his tenure as chief conductor of the orchestra, and the first year is always something very special. Not only for him, but also for the musicians and naturally for you as well. I would like to draw your attention to a long-standing tradition and particular highlight of our city’s musical year. On 30 August, at the opening of the concert season, the Musikfest Berlin begins, a successful collaboration between the Berliner Festspiele and the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation which will continue again this year.

Outstanding concert experiences

It is also a long tradition to offer renowned guest conductors and soloists a temporary home. Once again, distinguished names from the classical music scene promise outstanding concert experiences. Conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Christian Thielemann, Daniel Harding, Paavo Järvi, Ivan Fischer, Sir Simon Rattle, Mariss Jansons, Teodor Currentzis, Gustavo Dudamel and Emmanuelle Haïm will take the podium at the Philharmonie. Such prominent soloists as Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Isabelle Faust, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Frank Peter Zimmermann and Leif Ove Andsnes will appear with them, and the marvellous voices of Elīna Garanča and Christiane Karg, to mention but two, will also be heard. We can especially look forward to soprano Marlis Petersen, who will be Artist in Residence with the Berliner Philharmoniker this season. You will discover many other musical treasures as you browse through this website.

Musical excellence

And just as artists from all over the world are guests with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the orchestra also goes out into the world: many guest performances are on the agenda during the coming season. At the end of August and beginning of September they travel to Salzburg, Lucerne and Bucharest with Kirill Petrenko. Japan is the destination for the annual autumn tour in November, and the European Concert on 1 May as well as other concerts will take the orchestra and Kirill Petrenko to Israel, followed by concerts in several European capitals. Musical excellence is not the only reason the Berliner Philharmoniker are important to Berlin’s cultural life and vitality. The orchestra’s self-image as a cultural institution with political and social responsibility takes it out of the concert hall to the social hotspots of our city.

Under the heading “cultural participation” they have developed numerous projects to bring the orchestra’s music to children, young people and adults who are not able to attend concerts. This season, the Education Programme will present a musical project for young musicians with Kirill Petrenko, a prison project focussing on Beethoven’s Fidelio and many other activities throughout the city. The Berliner Philharmoniker will also continue their outstanding Vocal Heroes project. I marvel at the fact that along with all of these activities, there is still time for developing new ideas and putting them into practice. For example, during the coming season there will be a weekend concert marathon featuring chamber music by Beethoven to celebrate the 250th anniversary of his birth, an Israel weekend and an electronic music festival.

All of this guarantees unforgettable concert experiences, which I wish for all of us.

Klaus Lederer
Senator for Culture and Europe

Klaus Lederer

Senator für Kultur und Europa

(Foto: Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa)

Liebe Konzertgäste der Berliner Philharmoniker!

Nicht nur Ihnen, auch den Berliner Philharmonikern selbst steht ein künstlerisch und musikalisch aufregendes Jahr bevor. Kirill Petrenko tritt sein Amt als Chefdirigent des Orchesters an – und das erste Jahr ist immer etwas ganz Besonderes. Nicht nur für ihn, auch für die Musikerinnen und Musiker und selbstverständlich auch für Sie. Schon jetzt möchte ich Sie auf einen so traditionsreichen wie besonderen Höhepunkt des musikalischen Jahres unserer Stadt hinweisen: Am 30. August, zum Auftakt der Konzertsaison, beginnt das Musikfest Berlin, die bewährte Kooperation zwischen den Berliner Festspielen und der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, die auch in diesem Jahr fortgesetzt wird.

Die Welt zu Gast in Berlin

Eine ebenfalls schon lange gelebte Tradition ist es, namhaften Gastdirigenten und Solisten eine temporäre Heimstatt zu bieten. Wieder versprechen große Namen der klassischen Musikszene einzigartige Konzerterlebnisse: Dirigenten wie Zubin Mehta, Christian Thielemann, Daniel Harding, Paavo Järvi, Ivan Fischer, Sir Simon Rattle, Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Teodor Currentzis, Gustavo Dudamel sowie die Dirigentin Emmanuelle Haïm werden ans Pult der Philharmoniker treten. Aber auch namhafte Solistinnen und Solisten wie Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Isabelle Faust, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Frank Peter Zimmermann und Leif Ove Andsnes werden mit ihnen musizieren. Nicht zu vergessen die herrlichen Stimmen von Elīna Garanča und Christiane Karg, um nur einige zu nennen. Besonders freuen dürfen wir uns auf die Sopranistin Marlis Petersen, die in dieser Saison Artist in Residence bei den Berliner Philharmonikern sein wird. Beim Stöbern auf dieser Website werden Sie noch viele weitere musikalische Schätze entdecken.

Musikalische Exzellenz

Und so wie die Welt zu Gast bei den Berliner Philharmonikern ist, so zieht es diese auch hinaus in die Welt: In der kommenden Saison stehen erneut viele Gastspiele auf dem Plan. Ende August/ Anfang September geht es mit Kirill Petrenko nach Salzburg, Luzern und Bukarest. Japan ist im November Ziel der alljährlichen großen Herbsttournee, und das Europakonzert am 1. Mai sowie weitere Konzerte führen das Orchester und Kirill Petrenko nach Israel. Danach geht es gleich weiter mit Konzerten in europäischen Hauptstädten. Musikalische Exzellenz ist nicht die einzige Bedeutung, die die Berliner Philharmoniker für das kulturelle und lebendige Berlin haben.

Ihr Selbstverständnis als kulturelle Institution mit politischer und sozialer Verantwortung führt sie aus dem Konzertsaal hinaus zu den sozialen Brennpunkten unserer Stadt. Unter der Überschrift »Kulturelle Teilhabe« haben sie zahlreiche Projekte entwickelt, um auch jenen Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen die Musik des Orchesters nahezubringen, die keine Konzerte besuchen können. Zum Education-Programm gehören in dieser Saison ein Nachwuchs- Musikprojekt mit Kirill Petrenko, ein Gefängnisprojekt zu Beethovens Fidelio sowie weitere zahlreiche Aktivitäten in der Stadt. Auch ihr großartiges Vokalhelden- Projekt führen die Berliner Philharmoniker fort. Dass bei all dem immer noch Platz und Zeit ist für neue Ideen und deren Umsetzung, das bewundere ich. So gibt es in der kommenden Saison einen Wochenend-Konzertmarathon mit Kammermusik von Beethoven aus Anlass von dessen 250. Geburtstag, ein Israel-Wochenende und einen Schwerpunkt zu elektronischer Musik. All das garantiert unvergessliche Konzerterlebnisse – die ich uns allen wünsche.

Ihr Dr. Klaus Lederer
Senator für Kultur und Europa