Artist in Residence 2020/21

Tabea Zimmermann

Things are going extremely well for Tabea Zimmermann at the moment. In 2020 she was awarded the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, one of classical music’s most prestigious international awards. And during the 2020/21 season she plays an important role in the programming of the Berliner Philharmoniker as artist in residence. “This appointment is the greatest honour I can imagine,” declares the violist. “I am tremendously pleased that the invitation came from the orchestra itself. I was delighted to say yes.” The native of Baden-Württemberg has been at home on international concert stages for more than thirty years. She made her debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker with Bartók’s Viola Concerto in 1992 and has always earned the highest recognition as an interpreter of uncompromising standards, a dedicated professor at the Hanns Eisler School of Music and a passionate advocate of contemporary music.

Paul Hindemith

She will present six concerts during her residency. “Paul Hindemith is the central thread of the concerts,” she says, explaining the programming idea. “I’d like to take up his cause.” With the Berliner Philharmoniker under François-Xavier Roth she will perform Hindemith’s concerto Der Schwanendreher (The Swan-Turner). During chamber concerts she will juxtapose several of his early works – “not yet the kinetic Hindemith many are afraid of” – with works composed at the same time by Claude Debussy and British composer Rebecca Clarke, thus revealing surprising parallels. She is fulfilling a heartfelt wish at her first appearance with baritone Christian Gerhaher: “Every time we met we asked ourselves ‘Wouldn’t it be nice if we could make music together?’ But there simply was no work for us to perform.” Wolfgang Rihm changed that with his new Stabat Mater for viola and baritone, which will have its premiere during the Musikfest.

Soloist and chamber musician

Tabea Zimmermann will definitely not be taking things easy herself. She has planned a chamber music marathon during which Hindemith’s song cycle Die junge Magd (The Young Maid) will be heard. She will appear in the dual role of violist and leader with the Karajan Academy, although she deliberately does not see herself as the conductor: “The rehearsal phase is the decisive time. I’m very active at the beginning, then I gradually pull back until the ensemble practically plays alone.” It is important to her to achieve the chamber music ideal, even in the larger ensemble. An artist for whom not ego but art alone matters: that is a stroke of luck – for Berlin and the music world.

Artist in Residence 2020/21

Tabea Zimmermann

Für Tabea Zimmermann läuft es gerade glänzend. 2020 erhält sie mit dem Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis die wichtigste Auszeichnung im internationalen Musikleben. Und 2020/21 prägt sie als Artist in Residence das Programm der Berliner Philharmoniker. »Diese Ernennung ist die größte Ehre, die ich mir vorstellen kann«, erklärt die Bratschistin. »Dass dieser Wunsch aus dem Orchester selbst kam, ist für mich eine Riesenfreude. Da sage ich doch gerne: Ja!« Seit über dreißig Jahren ist die gebürtige Badenerin auf den Bühnen der Welt zu Hause; schon 1992 konnte sie mit Bartóks Violakonzert bei den Berliner Philharmonikern debütieren und erhielt stets höchste Anerkennung: als Interpretin von kompromisslosem Anspruch, als passionierte Professorin an der Musikhochschule »Hanns Eisler«, als engagierte Fürsprecherin der zeitgenössischen Musik.

Im Fokus: Paul Hindemith

Sechs Konzerte wird sie während ihrer Residency gestalten. »Paul Hindemith bildet dabei den roten Faden«, erläutert sie die Programmidee. »Ich möchte gern eine Lanze für ihn brechen.« Mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter François-Xavier Roths Leitung wird sie Hindemiths Konzert Der Schwanendreher aufführen; in Kammerkonzerten setzt sie einige seiner Frühwerke – »das ist noch nicht der motorische Hindemith, den manche fürchten« – in ein Wechselspiel mit zeitgleich entstandenen Kompositionen von Claude Debussy oder der Britin Rebecca Clarke und legt dabei verblüffende Parallelen frei. Einen Herzenswunsch erfüllt sie sich schon bei ihrem ersten Auftritt mit Bariton Christian Gerhaher: »Immer, wenn wir uns begegneten, fragten wir uns: ›Wäre das nicht schön, wenn wir einmal gemeinsam musizieren könnten?‹ Aber es gab einfach kein Stück dafür.« Wolfgang Rihm hat das geändert: mit seinem neuen Stabat Mater für Viola und Bariton, das im Rahmen des Musikfests uraufgeführt wird. Schonen wird sich Tabea Zimmermann gewiss nicht. Einen Kammermusikmarathon hat sie geplant, bei dem auch Hindemiths Liedzyklus Die junge Magd erklingt.

Solistin, Kammermusikerin und künstlerische Leiterin

Und bei der Karajan-Akademie wird sie in Doppelfunktion als Bratschistin und musikalische Leiterin auftreten, wobei sie sich bewusst nicht als Dirigentin versteht: »Die Probenphase ist das Entscheidende. Am Anfang bin ich sehr aktiv, dann ziehe ich mich sukzessive raus, bis das Ensemble so gut wie alleine spielt.« Denn es geht ihr darum, das kammermusikalische Ideal zu verwirklichen, auch in der größeren Besetzung. Eine Künstlerin, für die nicht das Ego, sondern die Kunst allein zählt: Das ist ein Glücksfall – für Berlin und die Musikwelt.