Artist in Residence 2017/2018

Mark Padmore

Mark Padmore
(Photo: Marco Borggreve)

Mark Padmore, this season’s Artist in Residence is a singer who, in connection with the Berliner Philharmoniker, is particularly familiar to audiences as the Evangelist in Johann Sebastian Bach’s St. John and the St. Matthew Passion which caused a sensation in 2013 and 2014 in the staging by Peter Sellars. His slender, clear and flexible tenor makes him the ideal performer for these roles to which he brings not only intelligence but also intimacy and emotion. “Mark Padmore is a charismatic Evangelist,” as one review in the Berliner Morgenpost wrote. In concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation, the singer has also appeared as a soloist in Joseph Haydn’s Harmony Mass, Beethoven’s Missa solemnis and Georg Friedrich Handel's Messiah, plus in lieder recitals.

Haydn’s “Creation” and Schubert’s “Winterreise”

As Artist in Residence this season, he presents further facets of his musical abilities. For example, he is one of the performers in two of the of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s wonderful oratorio projects: in the performances of Haydn’s Creation which is to be heard at the season opening concert, and in Robert Schumann’s secular oratorio Das Paradies and the Peri, in which Mark Padmore appears as the narrator. Then there are the four chamber music concerts in which he appears with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, students of the Karajan Academy and musical guests, which show Padmore’s versatility as a performer of lieder. In the first concert of his residency, he presents works by composers from his native England: Peter Warlock’s song cycle The Curlew, Richard Rodney Bennett’s Tim O’Bredlam’s song, and the cycles On Wenlock and Ten Blake songs by Ralph Vaughan Williams. This is followed by Franz Schubert’s Winterreise, a challenge for any singer who, within the overall melancholic mood that characterises the whole cycle, is tasked with bringing out a different facet in each of the songs. “Winterreise has that daring look at the world as it is, often cruel and lonely. At the same time it’s the story of an outsider, more like a Samuel Beckett character, somebody standing outside of life,” said Mark Padmore. In this concert, he is accompanied by the pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout, who on this occasion plays a fortepiano rather than a modern grand piano, and so the two artists offer audiences the opportunity to hear the song cycle in a way it could have sounded in Schubert’s time.

From Schumann to Wigglesworth

Two completely different composers are on the programme which Mark Padmore performs with the students of the Karajan Academy: Witold Lutosławski and Benjamin Britten, a combination which reveals hidden relationships: in their song cycles, Paroles tissées and Les Illuminations, both the Polish and the English composers have set French poems, and Lutosławski’s Paroles tissées was composed for the tenor Peter Pears, Britten’s partner. In his last concert, Padmore spans the arc from Romantic to Modern to contemporary lieder with Robert Schumann’s Song Cycle op. 39, Leoš Janáček’s Diary of One Who Disappeared and Ryan Wigglesworth’s cantata Echo and Narcissus. The tenor has a longstanding artistic friendship with the young English composer, conductor and pianist. “He’s an incredibly good musician,” as Padmore said in an interview for the Münchner Merkur. Unusual programming by an unusual singer who, in addition to well-known and cherished treasures of the lieder repertoire also presents rarely heard jewels of vocal music.

Concerts

Saturday,

20 Jan 2018,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Karajan Academy | Series: KA, O

Sat, 20 Jan 2018, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Pekka Kuusisto violin and direction

Mark Padmore tenor

Works by Johann Sebastian Bach, Witold Lutosławski, Anders Hillborg, Jean Sibelius and Benjamin Britten

read more

Wednesday,

04 Apr 2018,
20:00

Chamber Music Hall

Chamber Music | Series: V, O

Wed, 04 Apr 2018, 20:00
Chamber Music Hall

Mark Padmore tenor

Ryan Wigglesworth piano

Allison Cook mezzo-soprano

Members of the Vocalconsort Berlin

Works by Robert Schumann, Ryan Wigglesworth and Leoš Janáček

read more

Thursday,

17 May 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: F

Thu, 17 May 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Sally Matthews soprano

Mark Padmore tenor

Anna Prohaska soprano

Gerhild Romberger contralto

Andrew Staples tenor

Christian Gerhaher baritone

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Robert Schumann Paradise and the Peri, op. 50

read more

Friday,

18 May 2018,
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: M

Fri, 18 May 2018, 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Sally Matthews soprano

Mark Padmore tenor

Anna Prohaska soprano

Gerhild Romberger contralto

Andrew Staples tenor

Christian Gerhaher baritone

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Robert Schumann Paradise and the Peri, op. 50

read more

Saturday,

19 May 2018,
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: N

Sat, 19 May 2018, 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle conductor

Sally Matthews soprano

Mark Padmore tenor

Anna Prohaska soprano

Gerhild Romberger contralto

Andrew Staples tenor

Christian Gerhaher baritone

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars chorus master

Robert Schumann Paradise and the Peri, op. 50

read more watch online

Artist in Residence 2017/2018

Mark Padmore

Mark Padmore
(Foto: Marco Borggreve)

Mit Mark Padmore ist in dieser Saison ein Sänger Artist in Residence, den das Publikum in Zusammenhang mit den Berliner Philharmonikern vor allem durch eines kennt: als Evangelist in der Johannes- und der Matthäus-Passion von Johann Sebastian Bach, die in den Jahren 2010, 2013 und 2014 in der szenischen Realisation von Peter Sellars für Furore sorgten. Seine schlanke, klare und flexible Tenorstimme macht ihn zum idealen Interpreten dieser Partien, die er intelligent, aber gleichzeitig innig und berührend gestaltet. »Mark Padmore ist ein charismatischer Evangelist«, heißt es in einer Kritik der Berliner Morgenpost. Darüber hinaus konnte man den Sänger in den Konzerten der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker auch als Solist in Joseph Haydns Harmoniemesse, Beethovens Missa solemnis und Georg Friedrich Händels Messias sowie als Liederinterpret erleben.

Haydns »Schöpfung«, Schuberts »Winterreise«

Als Artist in Residence präsentiert er in der kommenden Saison weitere Facetten seines künstlerischen Spektrums. So wirkt er bei zwei großartigen Oratorien-Projekten der Berliner Philharmoniker mit: bei den Aufführungen von Haydns Schöpfung, die beim Saisoneröffnungskonzert erklingt, und in Robert Schumanns weltlichem Oratorium Das Paradies und die Peri, in dem Mark Padmore als Erzähler auftritt. Die vier Kammermusikkonzerte, die er darüber hinaus mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker sowie Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie und musikalischen Gästen bestreitet, zeigen Padmores Vielseitigkeit als Liedersänger. Im ersten Konzert seiner Residency führt er mit Peter Warlocks Liederzyklus The Curlew, Richard Rodney Bennetts Tim O’Bredlam’s Song sowie den Zyklen On Wenlock und Ten Blake Songs von Ralph Vaughan Williams Werke von Komponisten aus seiner englischen Heimat auf. Es folgt Franz Schuberts Winterreise, die eine Herausforderung für jeden Sänger darstellt. Gilt es doch, der einheitlich depressiven Grundstimmung, die den gesamten Zyklus prägt, in jedem einzelnen der Lieder eine eigene Facette abzugewinnen. »Die Winterreise hat diesen gnadenlosen Blick auf die Welt wie sie tatsächlich ist, oftmals grausam und einsam. Gleichzeitig ist sie aber auch die Geschichte eines Außenseiters, ähnlich eines Charakters von Samuel Beckett, jemand der außerhalb des Lebens steht«, meint Mark Padmore. Begleitet wird er an diesem Abend von dem Pianisten Kristian Bezuidenhout, der sich nicht an einen modernen Flügel, sondern ans Hammerklavier setzt. So bieten die beiden Künstler ihrem Publikum die Gelegenheit, den Liederzyklus in einer Art zu hören, wie er zu Schuberts Zeiten geklungen haben könnte.

Von Schumann bis Wigglesworth

Zwei vollkommen unterschiedliche Komponisten stehen auf dem Programm, das Mark Padmore mit den Stipendiaten der Karajan-Akademie realisiert: Witold Lutosławski und Benjamin Britten. Doch diese Zusammenstellung deckt verborgene Beziehungen auf. In ihren Liederzyklen Paroles tissées und Les Illuminations haben sowohl der polnische als auch der englische Komponist französische Gedichte vertont. Lutosławskis Paroles tissées entstanden für den Tenor Peter Pears, den Lebensgefährten Brittens. In seinem letzten Konzert spannt Padmore mit Robert Schumanns Liederkreis op. 39, Leoš Janáčeks Tagebuch eines Verschollenen und Ryan Wigglesworths Kantate Echo and Narcissus den Bogen vom romantischen über den modernen zum zeitgenössischen Liedgesang. Mit dem jungen englischen Komponisten, Dirigenten und Pianisten verbindet den Tenor eine mehrjährige künstlerische Freundschaft. »Er ist ein unglaublicher guter Musiker«, schwärmte Padmore in einem Interview für den Münchner Merkur. Eine ungewöhnliche Programmatik, eines ungewöhnlichen Sängers, der neben bekannten und geschätzten Preziosen des Liedgesangs, auch bislang selten gehörte Kleinodien der Vokalmusik vorstellt.

Konzerte

Samstag,

20. Jan 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Karajan-Akademie | Aboserien: KA, O

Sa, 20. Jan 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Pekka Kuusisto Violine und Leitung

Mark Padmore Tenor

Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, Witold Lutosławski, Anders Hillborg, Jean Sibelius und Benjamin Britten

mehr lesen

Mittwoch,

04. Apr 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Kammermusiksaal

Kammermusik | Aboserien: V, O

Mi, 04. Apr 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Kammermusiksaal

Mark Padmore Tenor

Ryan Wigglesworth Klavier

Allison Cook Mezzosopran

Mitglieder des Vocalconsort Berlin

Werke von Robert Schumann, Ryan Wigglesworth und Leoš Janáček

mehr lesen

Donnerstag,

17. Mai 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: F

Do, 17. Mai 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Sally Matthews Sopran (Peri)

Mark Padmore Tenor (Erzähler)

Anna Prohaska Sopran (Jungfrau)

Gerhild Romberger Alt (Engel)

Andrew Staples Tenor (Jüngling)

Christian Gerhaher Bariton (Gazna)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars Chor-Einstudierung

Robert Schumann Das Paradies und die Peri op. 50

mehr lesen

Freitag,

18. Mai 2018,
20:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: M

Fr, 18. Mai 2018, 20:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Sally Matthews Sopran (Peri)

Mark Padmore Tenor (Erzähler)

Anna Prohaska Sopran (Jungfrau)

Gerhild Romberger Alt (Engel)

Andrew Staples Tenor (Jüngling)

Christian Gerhaher Bariton (Gazna)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars Chor-Einstudierung

Robert Schumann Das Paradies und die Peri op. 50

mehr lesen

Samstag,

19. Mai 2018,
19:00 Uhr

Philharmonie

Aboserie: N

Sa, 19. Mai 2018, 19:00 Uhr
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Sir Simon Rattle Dirigent

Sally Matthews Sopran (Peri)

Mark Padmore Tenor (Erzähler)

Anna Prohaska Sopran (Jungfrau)

Gerhild Romberger Alt (Engel)

Andrew Staples Tenor (Jüngling)

Christian Gerhaher Bariton (Gazna)

Rundfunkchor Berlin

Gijs Leenaars Chor-Einstudierung

Robert Schumann Das Paradies und die Peri op. 50

mehr lesen online sehen