Composer in Residence 2016/2017

John Adams

(Photo: Deborah O'Grady)

John Adams is regarded as the musical voice of America – certainly when it comes to contemporary classical music. The artist, who was born in Massachusetts and now lives in California, is Composer in Residence for the 2016/2017 season. In this capacity, he will present himself in the course of the season not only as a composer with some of his most important works, but also live before Berlin audiences as a conductor on the podium of the orchestra and he will work together with the students of the Orchestra Academy.

Brilliant, energetic, humorous

“Two things particularly excited me about John’s music,” says Sir Simon Rattle, who has enjoyed to a decades-long artistic friendship with the composer. “One was that it always seemed to be moving forward in space, that I would imagine while listening to it that I was in a light aircraft flying rather fast, close to the ground. The other thing is that in almost all of his best pieces, there’s a mixture of ecstasy and sadness.” After studying at Harvard University, John Adams received the decisive impetus for his musical language from the minimalists Philip Glass and Steve Reich whose style intrigued, inspired and impressed him – but he never entirely adopted their ritual, monochrome musical language. As a result, Adams' works have the suggestive appeal of minimalist music, but at the same time are brilliant, energetic, visionary and always shows humour. According to Adams, his concern was not the dialectical juxtaposition of contrasting themes and motifs but rather a continuous process of transformation: “The formal idea with my music is that something appears on the event horizon, and then it increases in importance as it begins to dominate the screen, and then it passes you and it’s gone.”

Between time and space

Adams' Residency begins with concerts as part of Musikfest Berlin, where he conducts his 1985 orchestral work Harmonielehre, a tribute to the music theories of Arnold Schoenberg, Heinrich Schenker and Hugo Riemann, plus the German premiere of the dramatic symphony for violin and orchestra Sheherazade.2 with Leila Josefowicz as the soloist. In addition to works such as Short Ride in a Fast Machine, Lollapalooza and City Noir, which are integrated into the orchestra’s concert programmes, Sir Simon Rattle will conduct the Passion oratorio The Gospel According to the Other Mary to a libretto by the director Peter Sellars drawn from texts from the Bible, medieval mysticism and writings of women's rights activists, and survivors of the Holocaust – a both inter-denominational and timeless approach to the Passion of Christ. As Composer in Residence, John Adams will work with the students of the Orchestra Academy, with which he will prepare works by Andrew Norman, Timo Andres and Osvaldo Golijov in addition to his Chamber Symphony. Finally, together with the pianist Majella Stockhausen and Holger Groschopp, he will introduce Hallelujah Junction for two pianos in a pre-concert talk. The education programme will also explore the work of the American artist in two creative projects.

Konzerte

Thursday,

08. Jun 2017
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: G

Thu, 08. Jun 2017 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Gustavo Dudamel Conductor

Timothy McAllister Saxophone

Works by John Adams and Antonín Dvořák

read more

Friday,

09. Jun 2017
20:00

Philharmonie

Serie: I

Fri, 09. Jun 2017 20:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Gustavo Dudamel Conductor

Timothy McAllister Saxophone

Works by John Adams and Antonín Dvořák

read more watch online in cinemas

Saturday,

10. Jun 2017
19:00

Philharmonie

Serie: K

Sat, 10. Jun 2017 19:00
Philharmonie

Berliner Philharmoniker

Gustavo Dudamel Conductor

Timothy McAllister Saxophone

Works by John Adams and Antonín Dvořák

read more

Composer in Residence 2016/2017

John Adams

(Foto: Deborah O'Grady)

John Adams gilt als die musikalische Stimme Amerikas – zumindest in der zeitgenössischen klassischen Musik. In der Saison 2016/2017 ist der aus Massachusetts stammende und heute in Kalifornien lebende Künstler Composer in Residence. Als solcher stellt er sich im Laufe der Spielzeit nicht nur als Komponist mit einigen seiner wichtigsten Werke vor, sondern präsentiert sich dem Berliner Publikum auch live als Dirigent am Pult des Orchesters und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Stipendiaten der Orchester-Akademie.

Brillant, energetisch, humorvoll

»Zwei Dinge begeistern mich an Johns Musik besonders«, meint Sir Simon Rattle, den eine jahrzehntelange künstlerische Freundschaft mit dem Komponisten verbindet: »Erstens, dass sie sich immer vorwärts durch den Raum zu bewegen scheint, sodass ich mir beim Hören vorstelle, ziemlich schnell dicht über dem Boden in einem Leichtflugzeug zu fliegen. Zweitens die Mischung aus Ekstase und Trauer, die es in fast allen seiner besten Stücke gibt.« Die entscheidenden Impulse für seine Musiksprache bekam John Adams nach dem Studium an der Harvard University durch die Minimalisten Philip Glass und Steve Reich, deren Stil ihn faszinierte, inspirierte und prägte – ohne jedoch deren rituelle, monochrome Klangsprache vollkommen zu übernehmen. Mit dem Ergebnis, dass Adams’ Werke die suggestive Sogwirkung minimalistischer Musik besitzen und zugleich brillant, energetisch, visionär und immer auch humorvoll wirken. Nicht die dialektische Gegenüberstellung konträrer Themen und Motive – so Adams – sei sein Anliegen, sondern ein kontinuierlicher Transformationsprozess: »Die formale Idee meiner Musik ist folgende: Etwas erscheint am Horizont der Ereignisse, gewinnt an Bedeutung, fängt an die Szene zu dominieren und verschwindet dann wieder.«

Zwischen Zeit und Raum

Adams’ Residency beginnt mit Konzerten im Rahmen des Musikfest Berlin, in denen er sein 1985 entstandenes Orchesterwerk Harmonielehre dirigiert, eine Hommage an die Musiktheorien Arnold Schönbergs, Heinrich Schenkers und Hugo Riemanns, sowie die deutsche Erstaufführung der dramatische Symphonie für Violine und Orchester Scheherazade.2 mit Leila Josefowicz als Solistin. Neben Werken wie Short Ride in a Fast Machine, Lollapalooza und City Noir, die in philharmonische Konzertprogramme integriert sind, erklingt unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle das Passionsoratorium The Gospel According to the Other Mary, zu dem der Regisseur Peter Sellars das Libretto aus Texten der Bibel, mittelalterlicher Mystik sowie Schriften von Frauenrechtlerinnen und Überlebenden des Holocaust zusammengestellt hat – eine ebenso konfessions- wie zeitlose Annäherung an die Passion Christi. Als Composer in Residence arbeitet John Adams mit den Stipendiaten der Orchester-Akademie zusammen, mit denen er außer seiner Chamber Symphony auch Werke von Andrew Norman, Timo Andres und Osvaldo Golijov einstudiert. Schließlich stellt er mit den Pianisten Majella Stockhausen und Holger Groschopp in einem Pre-Concert-Talk sein Hallelujah Junction für zwei Klaviere vor. Das Education-Programm setzt sich außerdem in zwei kreativen Projekten mit dem Werk des Amerikaners auseinander.